These instructions assume you're using XWiki 1.2 or later with Albatross or Toucan skin (screenshots for Toucan).

Adding groups to your wiki

  1. Log in as an administrator.
  2. Click on the Administration link in the top right corner of the screen to go to the main Administration page.
  3. Click on the Groups icon to bring up an overview of all groups.
  4. Click on Add new group button to open the group creation lightbox as shown on the image below.
  5. Complete the group information and press the Create Group button.

creategroup.jpg

Editing an existing group

  1. Log in as an administrator.
  2. Click on the Administration link in the top right corner of the screen to go to the main Administration page.
  3. Click on the Groups icon to bring up an overview of all groups.
  4. You have two options:
    1. Click the group name for the group to edit.

        • On the group page click Edit in the top left corner. This will open a page editing view containing the members of the group (if any).
    2. Click on the pencil near the group you want to edit. This will open a lightbox with the members of that group.
  5. For both options, follow the instructions below. 
  6. You can add a new user to the group by typing the user's name in the input near Add new user. After starting to type, if the user exists, a suggest feature will be displayed, containing a list of all the users whose names contain the typed letters, so you can select from them. 
  7. You can also add an entire group into the current group. This can be done by typing the group name in the input near Add new group and then select one from the suggested list.
  8. You also can delete a user / group by clicking on the X button as shown below.

editgroup.jpg

Deleting an existing group

  1. Log in as an administrator.
  2. Click on the Administration link in the top right corner of the screen to go to the main Administration page.
  3. Click on the Groups icon to bring up an overview of all groups.
  4. Delete the group by using the X button for the group to delete.

deletegroup.jpg

Note that when you delete a group, the users or groups in that group are not deleted. If you also want to delete the members of the group, you will have to delete them manually from Users and the Groups pages.

Tags:
   

Get Connected